Williams nominated

Published 6:11 pm Thursday, November 16, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

RALEIGH – Eight outstanding school district leaders, to include one in Gates County chosen as regional Superintendent of the Year, are vying for the 2024 A. Craig Phillips North Carolina Superintendent of the Year Award.

The award will be presented in a ceremony beginning at the Sheraton Greensboro/Koury Convention Center in Greensboro on Nov. 14.

The North Carolina A. Craig Phillips Superintendent of the Year is chosen jointly by the North Carolina Association of School Administrators (NCASA), NCASA’s core affiliate the North Carolina School Superintendents’ Association (NCSSA) and the North Carolina School Boards Association (NCSBA), with support and sponsorship from worldwide education leader Scholastic Education Soultions.

The honor is awarded to a superintendent who exhibits outstanding leadership in service to K-12 public schools and is named in honor of the late A. Craig Phillips, former State Superintendent of Public Instruction in NC, who served from 1969-1989.

The eight regional winners and 2024 A. Craig Phillips North Carolina Superintendent of the Year nominees are as follows:

Region 1 – Northeast: Dr. Barry Williams, Gates County Schools

Region 2 – Southeast: Dr. Wesley Johnson, Clinton City Schools

Region 3 – Central: Dr. Rhonda Schuhler, Franklin County Schools

Region 4 – Sandhills: Dr. Marvin Connelly, Cumberland County Schools

Region 5 – Piedmont/Triad: Dr. Stephen Gainey, Randolph County School System.

Region 6 – Southwest: Dr. Aaron Allen, Lincoln County Schools

Region 7 – Northwest: Dr. Matt Stover, Catawba County Schools

Region 8 – Western: Aaron Greene, Polk County Schools